Tax Chat!

Tax Chat! is an online series of conversations with interesting people from around the globe who work on taxpayer rights in a variety of disciplines, including law, economics, public finance, psychology, and anthropology, and in fields such as human rights, tax ombuds/advocates, low income taxpayer clinics, and tax administrations.

Registration Open

Tax Chat! with Professors Riel Franzsen and Annet Oguttu, with Asha Ramgobin
– Taxpayer Rights, Human Rights, and Sustainable Development Goals –

06 October 2020 
Noon EDT/6 pm South African Standard Time/17:00 BST/18:00 CEST

Our next Tax Chat! will be held on 6 October 2020, at noon Eastern Daylight Time/6 pm South African Standard Time (17:00 BST and 18:00 CEST).  The guests for this conversation are Professors Riel Franzsen and Annet Oguttu, and Asha Ramgobin.  Riel is the director of the African Tax Institute at the University of Pretoria, which is the host of the Center’s  6th International Conference on Taxpayer Rights.  Annet is a professor in the Department of Taxation at the University of Pretoria, and Asha is Executive Director and co-founder of the Human Rights Development Initiative in Pretoria, South Africa.

We will discuss the role of taxpayer rights and human rights as a means to achieve sustainable development goals.  We’ll also chat about the work of the African Tax Institute, the challenges of offshore tax avoidance for African countries, and African influence and participation in OECD initiatives.

There is no registration fee for Tax Chat! but all attendees must register below in order to receive the link to the online chat.

Details Price Qty
Free Ticketshow details + $0.00 (USD)  

Tax Chat! Videos are now available on YouTube

Tax Chat! No. 1
Observatory on the Protection of Taxpayers’ Rights

In our inaugural Tax Chat! Professor Pasquale Pistone and Philip Baker, QC discuss international and national trends in taxpayer rights identified in the recently published Observatory on the Protection of Taxpayers’ Rights general and national reports. 

Topics include the right to privacy in light of exchange of information agreements; mandatory disclosure and consequences for attorney-client privilege; and proportionality of sanctions and penalties.