Tax Chat! – Observatory on the Protection of Taxpayer Rights

Tax Chat! is an online series of conversations with persons active in the field of taxpayer rights and tax administration.  Guests hail from many different disciplines and backgrounds.  Audience participation in encouraged. Our first Tax Chat! will be held on 1 September 2020, at noon Eastern Daylight Time (17:00 BST and 18:00 CEST).  The guests for conversation will be Professor Pasquale Pistone and Philip Baker, QC, the co-directors of the Observatory on the Protection of Taxpayer Rights, an initiative of the International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation.  Pasquale and Philip will discuss international and national trends in taxpayer rights, identified in…

Continue ReadingTax Chat! – Observatory on the Protection of Taxpayer Rights

2020 ICTR

The 5th International Conference on Taxpayer Rights will be held on 30 September and 01 October, 2020 at the University of Pretoria in Pretoria, South Africa.  The African Tax Institute is the host of the conference.  The theme of the conference is Taxpayer Rights, Human Rights: Issues for Developing Countries. Panel topics include: Taxpayer rights as human rights; Taxation as a means to achieving Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in Africa and other developing countries; Independent administrative appeals and the promotion of integrity and fairness in the tax system; The role of legal privilege in the protection of taxpayer rights; Strengthening…

Continue Reading2020 ICTR