Toward a Digital Taxpayer Bill of Rights

04 to 06 June 2024 | DigiTax Centre, University of Antwerp | Belgium

Registration is open now!

Hosted by the DigiTax Centre at the University of Antwerp, events include a free workshop for tax clinics and tax ombuds/advocates (or those interested in these initiatives), nine sessions over 2 1/2 days covering different aspects of digitalization of tax administration and the implications for taxpayer rights; an opening night reception on 04 June 2024 and a reception/dinner on 05 June 2024. 

All times for the conference are in Central European Summer Time.  To check out your time zone for these events, please click here

Because the time zone may make it difficult for some virtual attendees to see some of the sessions in real time, we plan to send out a link to the “raw” recording of each days’ session to registered attendees at the close of each day.  That way virtual attendees can catch up on any live sessions they may have missed, before the next day’s panels. 

Questions about the Conference? Contact the Center for Taxpayer Rights at info@taxpayer-rights.org.

The 9th International Conference on Taxpayer Rights immediately precedes the annual meeting of the European Association of Tax Law Professors, which will be held at the University of Antwerp from 06 to 08 June, 2024.  For more information about the EATLP meeting, please click here.

Panel Topics Include:

  • Fundamental rights in a digital age and the implications for taxation;
  • The impact of digitalization on the right to transparency;
  • The impact of digitalization on the right to fair treatment of the taxpayer;
  • The impact of digitalization on the right for a human intervention;
  • The impact of digitalization of taxation on tax officials;
  • The impact of digitalization on tax agency workforce and tax advisors; 
  • The impact of a digitalized tax system on the legislator and tax legislation; and
  • The impact of digitalized taxation on the judiciary and the right to judicial review.
We will also have a report on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the IBFD Observatory on the Protection of Taxpayer Rights and current developments.

Conference Venue:

Universiteit Antwerpen, Stadscampus
Hof van Liere
Prinsstraat 13
2000 Antwerpen

Click here for the City Campus map.  Hof van Liere is No. S.HvL on the map.

Registration Fees:

We want to make this conference accessible to all interested in this topic.  Therefore, in addition to the in-person registration option, we will be livestreaming the conference so that those who cannot travel will be able to attend.  We are also offering reduced rates for virtual attendees from non-OECD member countries, and a limited number of in-person slots at reduced rates for attendees from non-OECD member countries. 

Further, we are offering discounted rates for students who wish to attend the conference virtually.  To receive the discount rate for students, please email conference@taxpayer-rights.org and provide us with the name of the institution and the course of study you are pursuing.

We're sorry, but all tickets sales have ended because the event is expired.

Lodging Options:

The University of Antwerp has arranged for discounted rates for conference registrants at several nearby hotels.  The rates range from €110 to €219 for single rooms (excluding tax) and €125 to €239 for double rooms (excluding tax).  Upon registration, we will send you an email with information for making reservations at the discounted rates.

Travel to Antwerp:

The University of Antwerp maintains an excellent website with information about the best way to reach Antwerp.  Please see the site  here for the smartest route for your travel.

Conference Terms & Conditions:

Please Note:  Conference attendees are solely responsible for all transportation, accommodations, food, and lodging logistics in connection with their participation in the event, including all pre- and post-event conferences and travel.

By registering for this conference, you are agreeing to the conference terms and conditions, which can be accessed here.

Conference Sponsors: